School Council

School Council

The School Council for Yanchep Lagoon Primary School was formed in 2018. It is made up of parents, staff and general members of the community.


The Council is formed with the fundamental purpose of enabling parents and members of the community to engage in activities that are in the best interests of students and will enhance the education provided by the school.  The role of School Council is one of setting the long-term future for the school and maintaining oversight of the implementation of the School Operational Plan.

Functions of the Council: 

The functions of the Council are as provided in Section 128 of the School Education Act 1999 and include:

-A focus on improving learning outcomes for all students

-A shared vision and a plan reflecting the broad values of the school community

-Active involvement in endorsing the School’s Delivery and Performance Agreement, Budgets, Business Plans and Annual Reports

-Monitoring progress towards the achievement of objectives, priorities and general policy directions

-Planning of financial arrangements necessary to fund those objectives, priorities and directions

-Promoting meaningful parent and community participation and actively seeking the views of its school community

-Determining student codes of conduct

-Determining the student dress code

-Deciding on issues related to charges and contributions, extra cost options, advertising, marketing and sponsorship

-An advocacy role to enhance the operations of Yanchep Lagoon Primary School

The Council cannot:

* intervene in the control or management of the school;

* intervene in the educational instruction of students;

* exercise authority over teaching staff or other persons employed at the school; and

* intervene in the management or operation of a school fund.

The Council meets eight times per year and one of these meetings is a public meeting to which the school community is invited.  ​

School Council Representatives 2023/2024

Chair:  ​Ben Melvin

Principal: Paul Biemmi

Secretary: Charlene Thrupp

Staff: Kate Melvin, Laurel Steele, Charlene Thrupp ​

Parents: Ben Melvin, Danelle Running, Rebecca Jex, Alix Liebke, Joanne Brewer

Community: Linda Aitken, Alex Figg